it flag
en flag
el flag


Kriaritsi, Chalkidiki, Sithonia - One of the countless small bays in Sithonia, Chalkidiki

Chalkidiki is a region of Macedonia and geographically is located on the edge of central Macedonia and penetrates deep in the Aegean Sea, forming three long peninsulas that give the area its characteristic shape (the well-known "legs" of Chalkidiki).

At the southern part of Chalkidiki, the three characteristic elongated peninsulas from west to east, are: the peninsula of Kassandra, the peninsula of Sithonia and the peninsula of Mount Athos.

The 3 Peninsulas

Kriaritsi, Chalkidiki, Sithonia - The Big Blue

Kassandra is the western peninsula of Chalkidiki. It is one of the most famous places in Chalkidiki particularly developed in terms of culture and tourism. Some of Kassandra’s villages are: New Potidea, New Fokea, Afitos, Kallithea, Fourka, Kassandrino, Kalandra, New Skioni, Mola Kaliva, Loutra, Polychrono, Paliouri, Hanioti, Kryopigi, Agia Paraskevi, Pefkohori (Kapsochora).


Kriaritsi, Chalkidiki, Sithonia - Sailing boat

Apart from entertainment opportunities to be offered in the settlement, as well as in neighboring areas (Kalamitsi, Sykia, Sarti), visitors can enjoy a cocktail in the organized local beach bars (Platanitsi, Zografou Coast, Tristinika, Vourvourou). In villages of Porto Koufo, Toroni Marmaras, Vourvourou, Ormos Panagias, and the hotel complex of Porto Carras, visitors can participate in festivals, celebrations and cultural events held during the summer months, as well as visit restaurants restaurants, bars, casino, etc.

Moreover, visitors have the opportunity to get into wonderful summer activities, such as diving and sailing. The area offers great opportunities for small trips both in the village and in nearby outlying beaches and idyllic landscapes. There are oportunities for longer trips either by car or by private boat to visit the Holy Mountain and the island of Ammouliani.

Mount Athos

Kriaritsi, Chalkidiki, Sithonia - Sunrise over Mount Athos

The Holy Mountain is an "Autonomous Monastic State" within Greece (a unique institution in the world), located on the peninsula of Mount Athos in Chalkidiki and considered to be the centre of Orthodox monasticism. It is accounted as one of the most important references of the Eastern Orthodox Church, not only in the Balkans, but also in Europe, because of the huge national, historical, religious, and cultural value of its Monasteries and their great (and perfectly maintained) collections and archives. It is a true cultural shelter and a unique treasurer of the Greek Orthodox art and literary tradition.

The monastic institutions of Mount Athos are divided into six classes: the Holly Monasteries or "Monasteria", the Cloisters, the Cells, the Kalives, the Seats and the Hermitages. All monasteries are now communes. Of the 20 major monasteries -which are all officially recognised by the Church and the State and cannot be increased or reduced in numbers- 17 are Greek, 1 Serbian, 1 Russian and 1 Bulgarian.

Kriaritsi, Chalkidiki, Sithonia - An eye formed on the rocks from salt and water, sculpture by nature
Kriaritsi, Chalkidiki, Sithonia - Sailing boat Kriaritsi, Chalkidiki, Sithonia - Tigania beach, view to Mount Athos Kriaritsi, Chalkidiki, Sithonia - View of the sunrise over Mount Athos from the main beach in Kriaritsi, cloudy sky, stormy sea